I Hate Being a Software Engineer

David Goudet
4 min readOct 5, 2021

I thought by now I would be creating beautiful video games with Artificial Intelligence, but instead, I’m having a boring meeting to estimate a Jira ticket to fix a drop-down on a website.

After 10+ years of experience, drowned in the bureaucracy of big companies, and knowing my genuine passion is teaching, I’m hating software development.

Troubles in Paradise

I was sitting in an auditorium 13 years ago and some university students were explaining to us the careers options we had. When the computer engineering team started talking, my life changed.

They talked about video games, artificial intelligence, and software development. I was completely mesmerized. I thought you could create AI only in movies or in super-advanced labs, and I loved video games. I decided without a doubt that I was going to become a computer engineer.

Years later, after trying not to die from stress because I need to deploy to AWS or set up a Docker container, I’m realizing I’m not doing what I wanted to do.

But at the same time, I need to be grateful because I’m earning enough money to travel around Europe and make a lot of expensive things.

Hmmm…

What happened?

--

--

David Goudet

Senior Software Engineer from Venezuela living in Madrid. Top Writer in AI and Technology. Singularity University/US Dept of State alumni.